A Dear Bob Letter

Posted: June 7, 2017 in Uncategorized

Dear Bob,

       As soon as the news broke my phone started blowing up. So much I thought it was going to break like my heart. I want to be happy for you – but first I must get past my own selfish heartbreak. I always was and always will be a tremendous fan. 18 years we’ve been together and for those 18 years I was a devoted, supportive, loving girl who stood up for you when others threw harsh criticism your way.

         I wore a visor proudly because you did. I was at every home game. I traveled a lot of miles when you weren’t in Norman just to stand by your side. And this is all I get? I had to read this as “breaking news” like every other sports fan in the free world? You could have a least called – or even sent a text. I’m sure you have given this an abundance amount of thought but you have to understand how abrupt this news was to me. It hit me harder than the cops in Fayetteville hit Baker Mayfield on Dickson Street.

          Though the reason is not clear and the speculation is running rampant as I type this, I can’t help but think, is there somebody else? I am hard pressed to believe that as I’m quite positive I would have heard SOMETHING about it by now. People talk, Bob. But if I were to believe everything I read or hear I would have no choice but to believe you want to spend some quality time with your wife and family. What kind of man leaves a loyal fan behind like that? This isn’t about you, this is all about ME.

           But don’t worry about me. At least I don’t have to go through the search and turmoil to find a replacement for you. There’s a younger guy waiting to step in and take your place. And honestly, it won’t take a lot for me to “learn” to love him – he has been impressing me for the past 2 years. It should be a significantly short amount of time before I am over you.

            Ok, ok that is bullshit. I will NEVER get over you. I will ALWAYS love you and I will forever be grateful for the time you have given me. Sure, we had our ups and downs, but you came into my life and turned a negative situation into a very positive one. You have done great things. Record breaking things in fact and for that I will hold you in the highest regards and have nothing but fond memories of our time together. I will think of you when the new guy is holding the championship trophy in his younger, rugged, capable hands.

             I can’t end this without asking the question that fills my heart and mind. Why? Why did you have to do this on Prince’s birthday? Why must you choose such a sacred day to add daggers to my shattered heart? I will await your answer along with a proper farewell. Until then, please understand that as dejected as I am feeling right now, I do wish you all the best. I do hope you find what you are looking for, and most of all I thank you for the memories. And because it is Prince’s (RIP) birthday I will leave you with this:

I only want to see your visor in the crimson rain………….

You will always be Big Game Bob to me.

Love always and Boomer Sooner,

Leesa

 

Follow me on Twitter: @soonerleesa

 

Comments
  1. Jeffrey (@Jeff_in_winlock says:

    Very well-written Leesa, I love how you poured your heart into

  2. justjilligan0724 says:

    I can feel your heart breaking with every word – well said SHESAIDSPORTS!
    If you need anything I am always here for you!

Leave a Reply

