We Call It Bedlam

Posted: November 29, 2016 in Uncategorized

We call it Bedlam. I am referring to the regular season ending game between the Oklahoma Sooners and Oklahoma State Cowboys. When talking about this game, bedlam is the perfect word. Trust me, I Google searched it. It was defined as: a place, scene, or state of uproar and confusion. Bedlam is the precise adjective – especially for the game in Norman this Saturday, December 3rd.

I expect Oklahoma Memorial Stadium to be packed and causing a celebratory commotion before, during, and hopefully after the game. It really is a big deal. For the first time, the Big XII Championship will be decided in Norman. We’re not supposed to officially call it the Big XII Championship game. But it is the game that decides tbe Big XII champions. Confusing? Blame the league. Anyway, the Cowboys will be fighting against the Sooners –  inner-state rivals for all the Big XII marbles. I am still hearing rumblings regarding the miracle of a playoff berth with a win. I’m all for an early Christmas gift, but let’s speak realistically shall we? Not even the healthiest dose of Sooner Magic could make that happen. Spare me the “anything can happen” mentality, please. Face it, kids the Sooners are NOT going to be playing in Georgia, Arizona, or Florida this season. They do however have a chance to go to New Orleans to play in the Sugar Bowl.

Let’s not get too far ahead of ourselves though. The road to the Sugar Bowl starts in Norman Saturday. And it won’t be as easy as I’ve heard many over confident fans say. The last regular season game for the Sooners and Cowboys is, as mentioned before is being played to crown the Big XII champions and send the champs to NOLA for a Sugar Bowl title.

Should the Sooners prevail, this would be their 8th trip to the Sugar Bowl. As Sooner fans I think it’s safe to say the last time they were there we “shocked the world” by beating Alabama 45-31. If the Cowboys win, I will not only be personally destroyed but the Pokes will then make back to back appearances. Last season they were there and faced Ole Miss in which they lost 48-20. The first time they were there was in 1946 and played – and beat – Saint Mary’s Gaels. We all know what happened next. Oklahoma State was name National Champions for that 1945 season. It took 71 years for it to happen, but hey, a championship is a championship, right? I think they’re still drinking champagne from Pistol Pete’s boots to celebrate the occasion. Bless their hearts.

Needless to say, it’s going to be a big day in Norman, Saturday. Though I despise the 11:30 a.m. kickoff I am immensely eager for the game. As usual, I will be there on the front row sporting crimson and cream and root, root, rooting for the home team. The weather report tells me I may need to wear a rain poncho, but come rain or shine I will be there as the proud, loyal Sooner fan that I am.

I was asked recently why I’m not “trash talking” the opponent. It’s really very simple. I have a lot of friends that are State fans, and I respect and adore most of them. It only makes sense, right? I mean when you’re born and raised in Oklahoma not EVERYONE you know is going to make the right choice. Plus Pokes fans like intelligent Sooner fans. It’s the whole “opposites attract” theory. You know, after the election and the crazy amount of disagreements and torn friendships I witnessed, the last thing I want to do is get in a nasty war of words with a longtime friend over a football game – regardless of its importance. I would rather let the “talking” be done on the field. Even though I have heard plenty against my team, I am electing to just take it with a grain of salt. After all, I honestly think it’s going to be a very close game. I also HATE having to eat my words so I have learned to scale back on the trash talking. But seriously, my orange  (enter choking sound here) wearing friends, stop being so sensitive when we refer to you as Little Brother. That is a valid name and you should be happy we even consider you part of the family.

Also, I will be attending the game with an Okie Lite fan. (and another Sooner fan) The ride home is going to be bad enough for the loser, why add insult to injury? I did my Sooner civic duty by letting her in on the weather report. I hope she listens and dresses warm. In fact I hope all the State fans that are in attendance stay warm and dry. I know they will be wearing hats to cover their ears. How else are they going to keep their thoughts in?

Bedlam – it’s what’s going to happen this Saturday. I don’t dare make a prediction. What I will say that will happen for sure is one of the 2 teams will win. It will be the team with the most points and that team will represent the Big XII in the Sugar Bowl – most likely against Auburn. I also believe it will be a good game and a close score. Both teams are 9-2 and the Sooners are ranked 7th  and the Pokes 11th in the AP polls.It’s going to be war on Owen Field. I just hope I can be belting out my best Def Leppard impression of Pour Some Sugar On Me all the way home.

Boomer Sooner!

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram: @soonerleesa

Comments
  1. Denise says:

    Pistols firing, lol!

Leave a Reply

