I’m baaaaaaack!

Posted: September 26, 2016 in Sports
Tags: , , ,

Yes, I’m back. Not that I went on an exotic adventure or somewhere far away or anything so exciting. I did however decide to try my hand at writing for other sites, some of them pretty big ones. But as I learned my freshman year of college, I am not a rule follower. (Shocking, I know) It’s a bit amusing when I think about it. As a kid and teenager growing up I never broke any rules. Then college happened.

Now it’s not that I don’t understand and agree that one must remain professional and abide by the rules when it comes to published articles. I can and have done it many times. I totally get it. But this is exactly why I started this little venture of mine in the first place. I found I don’t enjoy following guidelines and refraining from using “those words.” You know, mostly the 4 letter variety. I am very expressive and sometimes use colorful language to be so. Those other sites, don’t appreciate it, and it’s ok. I’ve actually met some really cool people that I hope to continue the relationship with. Especially the guys at SportsNewsMagazine. (Yes, that was a shameless plug for my friends) But, after finding that I had a horrible case of writer’s block I stepped back and realized it wasn’t because I didn’t have anything to say, but because I wasn’t allowed to be me. And if you know me, I cannot be restricted. I’m going to tell a story and I’m going to do it my way. If you don’t like the language I sometimes use, then stop reading. I am who I am, and just because I may drop the proverbial “F” bomb every now and again does not necessarily make me a bad person. Well, I guess it’s all in how said F word is used.

Speaking of the F bomb. My beloved Oklahoma Sooners…….WHAT THE FUCK? Now, I realize Houston is a really good team, and goes without saying that Ohio State is really, really good, but come on! We were at home and to lose so badly really did hurt my heart. I will say, that game was one of the best times I’d had at a losing game, but the sting is still there. Did I expect us to go in there and march out victorious? I’m not going to lie. I had my doubts, but I really did think it was going to be a better game. Our defense sucked. Our offense was not great and the only player I can say that really appeared to be working was Joe Mixon. I’m not saying our players did not try, this is strictly my opinion. Mike Stoop’s defense has not impressed me at all so far this season and the Baker Mayfield high we were all on last year has seemed to turned into a mere Boone’s Farm buzz. I think I’m still waiting for Samaje Perine to break out, but only time will tell.

Let me say this, the fans did their job. We showed up, we striped the stadium and we were loud. Memorial Stadium was rocking – even after an hour and a half weather delay. Also, I have to admit Buckeye fans travel real well. My estimate is 10,000 of them. There were a lot, and the ones I had the pleasure of meeting and sitting with were all very pleasant, even when we were getting our Sooner red asses handed to us on a Buckeye gray platter. We sat with the infamous Buckeye Man and still managed to have a good time. (I publically apologize, Buckeye Man for accusing you of being BuckHIGH.) What I didn’t enjoy is hearing the team lead their fans in the “Basic Defense” chant after the game.

Pic:Fun withthe Buckeye Man

For those of you that don’t know the story behind the chant, here is the short version: OU freshman, backup QB Austin Kendall in an interview referred to Ohio State’s defense as being “basic” and said Mayfield would “light them up.” Did not happen. This comment went viral and there were t-shirts made and sold throughout Buckeye Nation and there were even bulletin boards made. Remember, Kendall is still just an 18 year old kid who probably got a time out from Bob Stoops, but come on. I know MAYBE he meant it as some sort of football term, but it was bad karma and gave the Buckeyes even more fuel that Saturday night. And they ignited it.

So here we are 1-2. Thank God we had a bye week this past Saturday. Not only did I get some housework done, but I had a stress free football afternoon. (Shout out to the Steelers for ruining a perfectly good weekend yesterday) Now this Saturday the Sooners travel to Ft. Worth to kick off Big XII play against the 21st ranked, 3-1 TCU Horned Frogs. Once again this game makes me nervous. Not to mention the following week is the Red River Shootout in Dallas. Don’t get me wrong, I have mad love for my Sooners – always have, always will, but this very well may be the longest season ever. I will not be going to the game in Ft. Worth, but I will be watching it on tv. At home. Where I cannot be kicked out for throwing things or cursing loudly. I go to the OU-Texas games most years but I still have not solidified any plans. (Who am I kidding, I’ll be there) I suppose any loyal fan knows the pain I speak of when your team is not living up to your expectations. But maybe that’s the problem, as fans maybe our expectations are set a little too high.

All I know is, the Sooners can still win the Big XII and I still believe. I refuse to let the thought of a team from Texas winning the conference enter my head along with the I hate Texas voices. It won’t be easy, but it can be done. My prediction is we go into Horned Frog territory and come out winners and then put Texas in their place the next week. (Their place being in the pile of Bevo shit from which they emerged.)

It’s good to be back. Thanks for reading.

P.S. Enjoy that 19th hole, Arnold Palmer. You played a hell of a round on earth.

Until next time, Boomer Sooner.

Follow me on Twitter: @soonerleesa

Leave a Reply

